Here We Go…

And so it seems that I have finally succumbed to peer pressure…I have started a blog. I guess it’s the “thing” do to, especially if one considers themselves a writer and is a Journalism major in college. And it doesn’t help either that my favorite movie is Julie and Julia, which centers around a blog and the adventure that ensues. Maybe this is the product of me watching that movie too many times. No matter the motivator, this blog will certainly be an adventure…where it will go, I’m entirely unsure,  but I am sure I’ll learn something in the process.

I picked the title for my blog “Lovely in the Everyday” cause one of the things I love the most is those moments each day that just resonate with magic. Those moments that remind us of why we are here, what we are doing on this planet Earth and the majesty of our King. They can be big, small or barely significant, but I love them all the same.

For example, today is a typical rainy day in Seattle. I love days like today. One look out my window is enough encouragement to crawl under a blanket near a warm fire, and curl up with a good book. Rain, in more ways than one, causes me to smile like a crazy person. Perhaps it’s the smell, the fact that because of all that wonderful, wet, freshness we get the greenery that deems Washington, the “Evergreen State”. Or perhaps it’s the simple reminder that as rain washes away the dirt and grim that we acquire in the air we breathe, it’s Christ’s blood that washes away my sins. Being reminded that He cleans me, makes me new, and frees me to live in victory and leave my sin behind is definitely something that I will never tire of. Like rain washing over our cities and countryside, Christ’s blood washes over us and redeems us from where we were. There is nothing more truly beautiful, in my opinion. Even the flowers that bloom as a result of all this crazy rain pale in comparison to the beauty of what Christ does in us.

“But because of His great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions – it is by grace you have been save.” Ephesians 2:4-5

So, here is to an exciting, blogging adventure. Ready to see where it takes us?

2 thoughts on “Here We Go…

  1. Encouraging words to wake up to! Ravi Zachariai would agree with you, he says we call tragedies “Acts of God” yet forget God when all the good things happen.

    Love the blog, will follow for sure

  2. Congratulations on starting your blog! This was a refreshing addition to my morning; I’m looking forward to reading more 🙂

Leave a Reply

