Nostalgia

Well, it’s been a little over a week since I first blogged and here I am again. This time I have absolutely no idea what to write, so I’ll just start and we shall see where this goes.

Today I, along with my two dear friends, went to our local mall to go to Blue C Sushi for lunch. Who doesn’t love food passing by on a conveyor belt right? Anywho…we strolled around the mall to let our stomachs digest and came across bright red signs filling a large part of the shopping complex. What were they advertising? Nothing less amazing than the opening of the newest addition to the mall: an American Girl store. Now, before you laugh your head off and swiftly click away to another website or blog, let me explain.

American Girl is a doll company, that specializes in making dolls that represented different periods in American history. Molly lived on the home front during World War 2, Kit scrimped and saved her way through the Great Depression, Addy was a slave freed by the Civil War and, my favorite, Felicity,  a young Patriot during the birth of the USA in the Revolutionary War. Each doll had six books, with additional short stories, and mysteries, as well as a whole slew of clothes, accessories, and furniture, to make the world complete. In the first grade, my best friend gave me a catalog and lent me a couple books and the rest, as they say, is history.

My first doll was Felicity, the next Samantha, a young, independent, stubborn girl growing up at the turn of the 20th century. My parents and I had a nightly ritual, reading one chapter in a book each night, working our way through every single book in the American Girl Library. We read over 48 books, my parents and I, and when my dad was out of town, he would call to hear about the recent adventures of the featured girl. The first chapter in a book I ever read by myself was in the book Samantha Saves the Day. The dolls and their stories have long since been replaced by other things as I have grown, but they began a love of adventure and history that hasn’t diminished.

All of this to say, I got pretty excited seeing the American Girl store as an almost reality so close to my own home. When I was 1,1 my parents took me on a special trip to Chicago to go to the only American Girl store on the face of the planet. To me as a hardly confidant, almost adolescent, the store represented the girls that I wanted to be like. I’ve since replaced the American Girls with different role models but the girls passing through history inspired my little 11 year old self to try things that scared me. In my relationship with Christ I’ve learned that my true courage comes only from Him, but I like to think that maybe those dolls and their stories paved the way for some semblance of fearlessness in me.

Well…I guess that’s what happens when I let myself write without much abandon.

“For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.” 2 Timothy 1:7

One thought on “Nostalgia

  1. I feel the same excitement for the new store, Alexis! My roommates and I reminisced about how much those dolls and their stories meant to our childhoods. I couldn’t agree more about the love for history that those books created in me.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

