This Just Doesn’t Happen

Today was a day of incredibly answered prayer. For quite a long time now I’ve been praying for a car. And not just, “Jesus, give me a car.” My prayers were more along the lines of, “Father, I need a car, I need a working car, I need a reliable car, I’d love a semi-cute car and I need it under $500. I know this is basically impossible, but You are an impossible God so please provide here.” I know…it’s a pretty specific, bold prayer. I was sort of unsure, even as I prayed it. But in John 14, Christ says “You may ask me for anything in My name and I will do it.” So, holding on to that promise with high hopes and a healthy dose of fear, I prayed. For weeks. Probably since the end of March. My prayers intensified when I got home to one car to be shared amongst my parents and I. We made it work and we got pretty skilled at musical car.

However, it was getting to point where having my own car would be more helpful to my parents and to me with my busy, crazy houred schedule. So when I got a call from my aunt, who I nanny for and said she would keep her eyes out, I never expected to hear what I did. “My good friend’s neighbor is selling this really cute white Saturn wagon that is in great condition for $500. Want me to get you the info?” HECK YES!

Today my car-wise father and I went to check out this promising possibility, all the while me being nervous as heck that it would end up not working out. But it did! My adorable little white car is sitting in our garage, after a very intense, (and not even close to being completed) bath and detail. After a quick fix to the windshield wipers (cause come on, I live in Seattle and go to college in Oregon…windshield wipers are an ABSOLUTE NECESSITY) my car will be in almost perfect condition. Coincidence? I think not.

“Now to Him who is able to do immeasurable more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations forever and ever! Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21

4 thoughts on “This Just Doesn’t Happen

  1. As I am pondering on John 6 this week it stikes me that Jesus “already had in mind what he was going to do.” This was before the Disiples even relaized they had a problem. Now Jesus had to get them in line with what he was thinking; one reason for prayer and waiting is to get us in harmony with what “in his name” really means.

    So happy for you!
    Dad

Leave a Reply

