The Master Plan

I’m the girl with the back up plans. I have back up plans for my back up plans. If A, B, or C don’t work, I can whip out D, E and F. But I’m starting to realize that there are a couple things in my life that don’t come with instruction manuals…and it sort of freaks me out. I like detailed instructions that I can follow, and check and test myself. Having a list to line myself up to is a comforting thing for me. Yes, that is how much of a Type A personality I really am.

But of course, most of life doesn’t follow a set plan or come with an instruction manual. Parenting, relationships, friendships, our Christian walk, all throw us into a circumstance that we have to learn our way through. In a world where we have how-to’s on everything from building a computer processor to making the best frozen yogurt creation at Menchies, the vital parts of our society have no manual. We are left to either lean on our own minds to guide us through, which more often than not ends up being to our detriment, or leaning on Christ, who only shows us what to do one step at a time. To a Type A, that whole one-step-at-a-time thing is insanely frustrating.

However, it’s during those times when I can’t see where I’m going, are the times when I learn the most. Lessons learned in the past come back to show themselves in my present, testing me and making sure I learned them sufficiently. Past memories haunt me, only to remind me of where I used to be and where I never want to go again.

So while in the present and walking towards the future I can’t see where I’m going, and I’m lost in the fog around me, with blinders to the details, and tunnel vision to the ground just before my feet, there is one solid thing that I can hold onto. The hand of my Savior. I know the minute I start to lean on myself is the minute it will all fall apart. The minute we give it up and surrender it to the will of the Creator of the Universe is the minute we gain the most freedom.

We say that life on earth isn’t life unless it’s truly lived. That might look different for every person, but it all comes to the same thing: what are we living for? The center of a human’s being cries out to be in the arms of our Creator, God. And He is what makes this life worth living. He, in all His justice and holiness, makes our lives on earth worthy of living beautifully. He wants to guide us along a plan better than our imagining.

His plan in the Master Plan. And the Master Plan doesn’t need a back up. Plan A is the plan that works, each and every time and in every situation. And His plan is different for every person, which I often get nervous about. If my plan is different from Suzie Grocerystore’s or Ben Hardware’s, how can I ever compare it? And for an over-organized, Type A person such as myself, that is the beauty of it. God’s plan for my life is incomparable to every other person’s on this planet, just like His plan for Suzie Grocerystore’s is incomparable to every other person’s plan as well.

Which makes me think: if every person’s plan is different, imagine the attention God is giving me as I live the path He has set me on? Why should I worry when the Creator of the Universe pays attention to every hair on my head and knows when every raven dies? Who says I NEED an instruction manual? Isn’t that all part of the adventure? Half the fun is getting there! He knows where He is leading me and I want to follow the gentle directions of His hand. Following Him, I can learn to walk on water, as long as I keep my eyes on Jesus, the maker and perfector of the Master Plan.

“‘For I know the plans I have for You,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.'” Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

