A Wonderland For Me

The first hail storm of the year and I’m sitting in the library, writing my heart out. At least it gives me a chance to update my blog.

It started out of nowhere, pouring from the clouds as if God finally decided to let them release their hail stores from the past summer. I watched as the tiny ice balls bounced around the pavement and grass that I could see from my view at a desk in the library. I watched as a leaf, perched precariously on the edge of the sill right outside the window slowly got jabbed, poked and prodded off the edge of the ledge. And then finally it stopped. Maybe the stores ran out. Or maybe that’s just nature’s way of telling us winter, on this sunny, freezing day, has finally arrived in little Newberg. Thank goodness. I’ve been waiting for this.

I don’t know about you, but this is my favorite time of year. Spring is good. That whole “new life” theme is pretty cool and Sunrise Easter Services are always a treat. Summer’s fun, but living in Seattle it gets to 70 degrees and people start retreating away to their homes. We don’t do so well in heat, us Seattleites. And then of course the late winter bit, in January and February is never liked much, especially if you’re single in February.

But autumn. Now there is a season with personality! A season brimming with everything this writer’s art needs to be content. Is there a country with eternal autumn…that’s going on the bucket list.

Ah yes. The bright green leaves changing through a rainbow of gold. The temperature dropping, cueing the surfacing of scarves, sweaters, boots and gloves. The hot drinks. Tea and coffee and apple cider shared with friends over a good conversation. Cozy, warm. No wonder I love the fact that my dorm has a working fireplace.

I’m coming to think that, although I’ve lived in Washington my whole entire life and there are beauties beyond count in my beloved Evergreen State, Oregon is by far a more appropriate wonderland for me. It wasn’t until Oregon happened that I hiked mountains, learned how to rock climb or go backpacking. Now with visions of Kilimanjaro and Everest in my head (hiking gear for Christmas please!) Oregon is spurring me on to new heights! …Ahem…new prospects.

And Christmas is just around the corner. After Thanksgiving of course. A whole season devoted to family and yummy food and perfect excuses to cozy up inside with a blanket, a bible, a notebook and some tea and while away the world. Sounds like the most wonderful time of year to me!

But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.1 Corinthians 1: 27

One thought on “A Wonderland For Me

Leave a Reply

