The Dubai Airport

The Dubai airport. I’ve been a lot of places and in a lot of strange situations, but none are so overwhelming as the Dubai airport. So many shops (of things I could never afford) and so many people! So many signs and directions and things to look at! It’s both beautiful and horrible at the same time. I found a small place away from the hustle and bustle to write…and believe me it was hard to find even that!

When I arrived from Seattle at about 7:45pm Dubai time, the airport was crowded but not excessively busy. I tucked myself away on a side walkway and wrote and took a nap. By the time I got up from my lounge chair (cause the Dubai airport has things like that…and they’re great) it was ridiculously busy. Like American malls on Black Friday. So many people, but this was much more interesting than Black Friday. People from every walk of life, every race and language; the variety was incredible! I heard at least five different languages while I was sitting in my lounge chair, and then at least ten others walking through the main shopping area to my gate.

People in blue blazers were littered throughout the airport, trying to sell you things. They spoke a variety of languages too and the airports employees were a diverse as the travelers. It was stunning! I’ve never seen so many people, of so many different backgrounds in one place. It made me wonder what the tower of Babel was like after languages were introduced.

I met a girl my age who had coincidently just come from Dhaka, and was heading back to the US after visiting her family in Pakistan. We chatted about school and travel and the plights of airplanes.

And I scheduled this post to come up while I’m flying over the Indian Ocean. Gotta love technology!

Writing away with Little Bear watching.

Writing away with Little Bear watching.

It just keeps going and going and going...

It just keeps going and going and going…

So many incredible places were listed on this board. I want to go to all of them!

So many incredible places were listed on this board. I want to go to all of them!

hooka

3 thoughts on “The Dubai Airport

Leave a Reply

