I Rode A Rickshaw…

And it was fantastic! If I lived here and I knew the system better, I’d make that my normal mode of transportation, cause it was so much fun! Granted, traffic was light and I didn’t see my life flash before my eyes, or have anyone try and steal my wallet. But still…quality transportation right there.

Tara and I made our way to the market, and walked around Gulshan 2 today. It didn’t overwhelm me as much today. In fact it was really fascinating. There are beggars everywhere, and everyone is asking you to come into their store and buy something. There’s tons of honking and yelling and it smells like…all sorts of things. Good things like pastries or fresh fruit and not so good things like manure and dead fish.

Tara introduced me to mishti, which is the Bangladeshi word for sweet. There was a whole variety of pastry like sweets. I had one that sort of tasted like a Twinkie…only without preservatives. We walked through the market which was chaotic and unorganized and so colorful! It was full of everything from produce to dishes and stuff off the boats from Chittagong and artwork and pearls. Gorgeous pearls.

We’re all going to wedding on Friday which means that I get to get a sari! Basically, I get to pick a fabric with a pattern and color that I like and get it made into a sari. So we browsed a couple fabrics as well. When it’s all done and Tara and I are dressed up for the wedding I’ll make sure to get a picture.

This is the power lines...unorganized and tied in bundles.

This is the power lines…unorganized and tied in bundles.

This is were we looked around for a while. And where the pearls are.

This is were we looked around for a while. And where the pearls are.

A view of Gulshan 2. This is part of where we walked around.

A view of Gulshan 2. This is part of where we walked around.

Leave a Reply

