Five Lessons in Figuring Out the Future

Photo Courtesy of Joel Rurick.

So… three weeks ago I attempted at a trip to San Fran and got held up in Medford with a flat tire that never actually had any problems. This past weekend I actually made it to the city of Painted Ladies, Golden Gate Bridge, the Chronicle and Alcatraz. And I can almost guarantee…this was a much better trip than my ill-fated stint down south a few weeks ago. I had the supreme privilege of going to San Fran with a few of my fellow staffers from my school newspaper, the Crescent and had an incredible trip. It deserves multiple posts. But in the midst of these posts, I also want to share a few lessons I’ve learned in the past three weeks. Lots of big thinking happened so this is a good indicator of where I’m at.

1. Big dreams die hard, but quiet dreams will be the ones to prevail. I’ve had the dream of acting since I was a little girl. And it wasn’t a dream of someday, maybe, if I’m lucky. This was a dream that consumed me, drove me, and inspired me. Despite the nay-sayers, it persisted by sheer will-power. But even more than that, I’ve always been a story-teller and there are numerous ways to tell a story. For now, my quiet dream of living as my own boss and writing to tell good stories is the prevailing dream. And that’s better then the stars and glamor and lights of the acting world.

2. Passion counts for more than talent but never underestimate the skills you have. Passion can be channeled, talent without passion is dry. Find what you’re good at within the context of what you love. I’m passionate about story and I love to write and portray and share and chat and be. So, being a journalist or a blogger (or both!) is a good combo for me.

3. Go for the best you can, no matter your situation, your knowledge or the people you work with. Doing your best is the best you can do. There is a quote that says that we often compare everyone else’s best with our own blooper-reel. It doesn’t entirely matter if someone else looks prettier, more creative, more intelligent or more cutting-edge than you. That’s their deal, not yours. Go for what you’re good at, and work with what you have. Limited resources are the testing ground for when the sky becomes your limit.

4. More often than not we have no idea what/why/how we are in a given situation. That doesn’t mean that they don’t have a purpose. This year has been a year of not knowing why the hell I’m in the position I’m in and why some things have worked out and why others have not. The acting thing hasn’t worked out, but door after door after door has opened with writing as the stepping stone. I don’t understand why I was supposed to be an RA this year (I had wanted to be in India) but I do understand that God works in really incredible ways. I’m along for the journey and I trust that someday I’ll look back and know that this direction led to my right destination.

5. Don’t discount the people you have in your life. They will take you farther than anything you can do on your own. If you want to go fast, go alone, but if you want to go far, go with others (African proverb). I’ve said this before and I’ll say it until I die: I would not be who I am, where I am, or have done the things I have without the influential people in my life. Whether for good or for bad, they were there and they made an impact. Without my RA staff of CoEd, I would be different. Without my Crescent staff I would be different. Without being raised by a group of some of the strongest women I have ever met, I would be different. I’m fully capable of going fast. I would just rather go far.

Photo Courtesy of Joel Rurik.

3 thoughts on “Five Lessons in Figuring Out the Future

  1. Great post, Lexie. I have faith that whatever comes next for you is going to be exactly what you should be doing! I can’t wait to see what that is.

Leave a Reply

