What I’m Reading-Summer 2013

Here is the summer segment of What I’m Reading! Goodreads.com has a challenge each year where you set a goal for how many books you want to read within the year. I set my goal for 25 and I’m right on track. Here are some of the books that I’ve most enjoyed:

Someday, Someday, Maybe

Someday, Someday, Maybe Lauren Graham, who starred as Lorelei Gilmore in Gilmore Girls. This endearing book is about Franny, an aspiring actress living and working in New York City. I loved this book for two main reasons: the writing showcases Lauren Graham’s humor and wit so well and I could relate to the story. Obviously I’ve never lived in New York and tried to get on Broadway, but I could relate to her dreaming and her desire to fulfill her goals. It was a sweet, inspiring story of a girl with doubts still aiming for her dreams.

A Year of Biblical Womanhood

If you haven’t read this, go buy a copy or get it from the library STAT. Because everyone needs to read it. Not only is Rachel Held Evans, witty, hilarious and a good story-teller, she is intelligent, discusses complicated religious beliefs and theologies with ease and clarity and doesn’t shy away from arguments within the church about women’s roles. Brilliantly written and completely engaging. I recommend this book to EVERYONE.

The Honest Life: Living Naturally and True to You

Yes, this book is by Jessica Alba and yes it is yet another book on some celebrity’s lifestyle, but this book is one of the best books on living an environmentally-friendly lifestyle that I’ve read. It breaks down the main issues people come across in living healthy, and eco-friendly, and shares complex information in a easy to understand manner. This is more like a handbook to living a healthy lifestyle. It was fun, informative and practical. I’d recommend it to anyone interested in healthy living or living environmentally friendly.

What are you reading this summer?

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading-Summer 2013

  1. This look heavy! Or, heavier than what I’m reading. Right now, It’s “Gone Girl,” by Gillian Flynn. Really good! I just finished “Big Brother,” another novel, by Lionel Shriver. The best book I’ve read this summer, though, was called “The Child Catchers,” by Kathryn Joyce, about evangelicals and adoption and the problems that can occur with unscrupulous adoption facilitators. Thanks for sharing what you’re reading, too!

    • I’ve heard so much about Gone Girl! It’s on my summer to read list. The Child Catchers sounds fascinating. I’d love to read that too! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

