Blueberry-Almond-Spinach Smoothie

I love smoothies. They just scream summer and sunshine and fresh fruit. So of course during the summer, when the produce is abundant and there’s tons of sunnny rays to be had, I like to make smoothies.

And of course, there is always the benefit that you can put pretty much whatever you want in a smoothie and it will taste good. The magic of fruit!

So I thought I’d share with you all one of my favorite smoothies that I’ve come up with this summer. It ridiculously easy and delicious, not to mention healthy!

Blueberry-Almond-Spinach Smoothie

Ingredients:

-a handful of almonds (or some other nut. Pecans, walnuts or peanuts have all ended up in this)

-frozen blueberries

-a big heaping handful of spinach

-a splash of milk

-yogurt, if you choose. (I like to match my yogurt flavors to the fruit that is going in my smoothie. So, I used blueberry greek yogurt for this.)

I start by getting the almonds (or whatever nut you’re using) to fine little pieces. Just throw them in the blender and pulse a couple times until they’re fine slivers.

Next I add in the blueberries and a splash of the milk, with the yogurt and spinach on top. I blend it all and if I need to make it more smooth or more liqiud-y as opposed to ice cream-y, I add more milk.

Refrigerate the leftovers for up to two days.

Easy peasy right? And it tastes delicious and it’s a great way to sneak in those all-important leafy greens. YUM.

One thought on “Blueberry-Almond-Spinach Smoothie

  1. This sounds yummy, I’m going to give it a try. I am so glad to see that you try to sneak veggies into your recipes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

